was successfully added to your cart.

7 tips to improve your flexibility

By 28 September 2018 Motivation, Pole & Me

Few people are flexible by nature. Others (like me) have to work hard to gain every extra millimeter.

When I was a child (about 20 years ago), I was in the gym and was quite flexible. Then I practiced other more physical sports, then nothing for 2 years before I got in pole dance. During that years my flexibility had time to disappear.

Those who remember my new flexibility start can confirm that the state of my flexibility was inexistent… Until the day I decided to work on it more seriously. Since then there has been more than 4 years of personal practice and almost 1 year as a teacher at Keelin Pro studio where I train. I ended up making a small list of tips that help me progress. I use them in my classes and my regular students see their flexibility improve faster.

At the time of today, I have 7 tips to share with you:

1. Be regular

Flexibility and regularity are almost synonyms, especially for stiff people like me. My muscles stiffen quickly as soon as I do physical exercises, eat not healthy food, do not rest enough, etc. If you’re like me and want to progress fast enough, add at least 1 intensive stretching session per week to your schedule.

2. Set intermediate goals and take pictures of your evolution

Try not to be in a hurry for fast results, set an achievable goal and cut it into intermediate goals. For example if you want to have a split but you are far from the ground, fix smaller objectives to reach for each step (30, 20, 10, 5, 0 centimeters from the ground). Achieving first goals quickly will give you the motivation to work even harder.

And of course, it is essential to take pictures of your progress. Sometimes we realize our progress only when we look at the pictures.

3. Do not go into extreme pain (be patient)

Personally, I am against the old-fashioned wild method making you scream of pain. I consider that the flexibility must bring pleasure (even if it hurts a little on the moment). A strong  pain sends a signal to the brain that it damages the body and gives the opposite result: we tense and we start to hate stretching.

On the other hand, if you block in the position when the stretch hurts slightly and you feel strong tension without going to the excruciating pain, little by little your muscles will get used and will find it almost pleasant.

Be patient. We already see enough people who rush and hurt themselves. It’s better to take your time but get there without injuries. 😉

4. Try to relax while stretching

When in addition to point 3 you manage to relax in the stretching position, breathe deeply and make a Buddha smile (that makes my students laugh a lot when I say that ^^ but jokes aside it works really well!), you give to your muscles a message “Everything is fine, it’s good to stretch”.

Stay in each position for a moment, breathing deeply and feeling your muscles lengthen. This is one of the techniques I use regularly in my classes: a moment of relaxation before the session and breathing in each position. It looks like nothing but it’ does a lot!

écrasement facial, écarts, souplesse jambes, flexibility, splits

5. Hydrate yourself

Hydration is very important. I talked about it thoroughly in this article.

Regarding the flexibility, it helps eliminate toxins and increase the elasticity of the muscles.

6. Take flexibility classes

Sometimes it’s complicated to organize yourself: no time, no ideas of exercises, no motivation…. My students often say: “In class, we are going much further than at home! ”

It’s true, no matter the discipline: you do not need to think, look for exercises and test them before you find those who really work. And the atmosphere of the group and the presence of a coach always push you a little further.

7. Participate in Marco Oranje’s workshop

It should be The Tip # 1 but I kept the best for the end. The meeting with Marco was the real start of my journey into the world of flexibility. Thanks to him, I rediscovered the flexibility of my back, which I thought I have lost forever.

Marco’s teaching is built around ultra-efficient techniques. The work of the body is very different from the usual techniques, with a focus on safety. I completely adopted his techniques and use them for me and for my students, mixing them with yoga and some other stuff.

In short, you have understood, a workshop with Marco is essential. I do not miss one in the area, when I am available. Since the very beginning I have done at least ten and I look forward for the next!

Marco Oranje, contorsionist, flexibility

Marco Oranje, contorsionist. Photo credits : Karo Cottier Photography

These are the tips that help me progress. I hope they will be useful to you as well. 😉

P.S. I also advise you to invest in a good yoga mat that does not slide and does not stretch. It is essential to work the bridges safely. Personally I use a mat by Lolë, I think the price / quality ratio is correct.

And just to show you the progress that one can get even with bad flexibility practicing regularly and participation in Marco’s workshops, I share with you a small pic of my progress. 😉

Souplesse dos, back flexibility, backbend
Antonina Falco

Author Antonina Falco

More posts by Antonina Falco

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:

was successfully added to your cart.

7 astuces pour améliorer votre souplesse

By 28 septembre 2018 Motivation, Pole & Me

Rares sont les personnes qui sont souples de nature. Les autres (comme moi) doivent cravacher dur pour gagner chaque millimètre supplémentaire. 

Quand j’étais enfant (c’est-à-dire il y a environ 20 ans), je faisais de la gym et était globalement souple. Puis j’ai fait d’autres sports plus physiques, puis rien pendant 2 ans avant d’attaquer la pole dance. Autant dire que ma souplesse a bien eu le temps de disparaitre.

Ceux qui se souviennent de ma reprise pourront bien confirmer que l’état de ma souplesse donnait plutôt envie de pleurer… Jusqu’au jour où j’ai décidé de m’y prendre plus sérieusement.   Depuis il s’est passé plus de 4 ans de pratique personnelle et presque 1 an en tant que prof au studio Keelin Pro où je m’entraine. J’ai fini par faire une petite liste des astuces qui m’aident à progresser. Je les utilise dans mes cours et mes élèves réguliers voient leur souplesse progresser plus rapidement.

A l’heure d’aujourd’hui, j’ai 7 conseils à vous donner:

1. Soyez réguliers

Souplesse et régularité ce sont presque des synonymes, surtout pour des personnes raides comme moi. Mes muscles raidissent très vite dès que je fais des exercices physiques, mange n’importe quoi, ne me repose pas assez, etc. Si vous êtes comme moi et que vous voulez progresser assez rapidement, rajoutez au moins 1 séance de stretching intensif par semaine dans votre planning.

2. Fixez des objectifs intermédiaires et prenez des photos de votre évolution

Essayez de ne pas être gourmands tout de suite, fixez un objectif atteignable et découpez le en objectifs intermédiaires. Par exemple si vous voulez avoir un écart mais vous êtes loin du sol, fixez des paliers à atteindre pour chaque étape (30, 20, 10, 5, 0 centimètres du sol). L’atteinte rapide des premiers objectifs vous donnera la motivation pour travailler encore plus dur. 

Et bien évidemment, il est indispensable de prendre des photos des progrès. Des fois on ne se rend compte des progrès que quand regarde les photos.

3. N’allez pas dans la douleur extrême (soyez patients) 

Personnellement, je suis contre la méthode sauvage à l’ancienne où on hurle de douleur. Je considère que la souplesse doit apporter du plaisir (même si ça fait un peu mal sur le moment). Une douleur trop vive envoie un signal au cerveau que cela endommage le corps et donne le résultat inverse : on se crispe et on commence à détester le stretching.

En revanche, si vous bloquez au moment où l’étirement commence à bien se sentir sans aller vers la douleur atroce, petit à petit vos muscles vont s’habituer et trouveront ça presque agréable. 

Soyez patients. On voit déjà assez de personnes qui se précipitent et se blessent. Il vaut mieux prendre le temps mais y arriver sans déchirures. 😉 

4. Essayez de vous détendre pendant les étirements

Quand en plus de ça vous arrivez à vous détendre dans la position d’étirement, bien respirer et faire un sourire de Bouddha (ça fait beaucoup rire mes élèves quand je dis ça ^^ mais ça marche vraiment bien!), vous donnez à vos muscles un message « Tout va bien, c’est bon de s’étirer ».

Restez un moment dans chaque position en respirant profondément et vous sentirez vos muscles s’allonger. C’est une des techniques que j’utilise régulièrement dans mes cours : un moment relaxation avant la séance et respiration dans chaque position. Ça n’a l’air de rien mais ça fait beaucoup!

écrasement facial, écarts, souplesse jambes, flexibility, splits

5. Hydratez vous

L’hydratation est hyper importante. J’en ai parlé plus longuement dans cet article.

En ce qui concerne la souplesse, ça permet éliminer les toxines  et d’augmenter l’élasticité des muscles.

6. Prenez des cours de souplesse

Parfois c’est compliqué de s’organiser tout seul : pas le temps, pas d’idées d’exercices, pas la motiv’…. Mes élèves disent souvent : « En cours on va quand même bien plus loin qu’à la maison! » . 

C’est vrai, peu importe la discipline : vous n’avez pas besoin de réfléchir, de chercher des exercices et les tester avant de trouver ceux qui marchent vraiment. Et l’ambiance du groupe et le regard d’un coach vous poussent toujours un peu plus loin.

7. Participez au workshop de Marco Oranje 

Ça devrait être le conseil N°1 mais j’ai gardé le meilleur pour la fin. La rencontre avec Marco a été le vrai début de mon voyage dans le monde de la souplesse. Grâce à lui, j’ai redécouvert la souplesse du dos, que j’ai cru avoir perdu à tout jamais.

L’enseignement de Marco est construit autour de techniques ultra efficaces. Le travail du corps est très différent des techniques habituelles, avec un accent mis sur la sécurité. J’ai adopté complètements ses techniques et les utilise pour moi et pour mes élèves, en les mixant avec du yoga entre autres. 

Bref, vous aurez compris, un workshop avec Marco fait partie des indispensables. Je n’en rate pas un dans la région, quand je suis disponible. Depuis le tout début j’en ai fait au moins une dizaine et j’attends avec impatience le suivant!

Marco Oranje, contorsionist, flexibility

Marco Oranje, contorsionniste. Crédits photo : Karo Cottier Photography

Voilà les astuces qui m’aident à progresser. J’espère qu’elles vous seront utiles. 😉

A vos tapis ! 

P.S. Je vous conseille aussi d’investir dans un bon tapis de yoga qui ne glisse et ne s’étire pas. C’est indispensable pour travailler les ponts en toute sécurité. Personnellement j’utilise un tapis de la marque Lolë, je trouve que le rapport qualité/prix est correct. 

Et pour illustrer les progrès qu’on peut obtenir à partir d’un dos raide, les workshops avec Marco et des entrainements réguliers, je vous laisse une petite photo de mes progrès. 😉

Souplesse dos, back flexibility, backbend
Antonina Falco

Author Antonina Falco

More posts by Antonina Falco

Leave a Reply

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :